So hat alles angefangen - Teil 1

Juni 7, 2019

So hat alles angefangen
– Von Kirsten Kuhnert (CDTC-Mitgründerin)

Wie oft hört man doch den Ausdruck, dass die „Zeit wie im Flug vergeht“! Aber noch nie wurde mir das so deutlich bewusst wie jetzt, zum 15jährigen CDTC-Jubiläum. Und als ich neulich vom Dolphin Suites-Hotel zum Therapiezentrum lief, kam es mir vor, als befände ich mich auf einer Zeitreise. An den Tag, an dem mein Telefon um 10.00 Uhr morgens klingelte und ich eine mir völlig unbekannte Ländervorwahl sah, erinnere ich mich noch ganz genau. Der Anrufer war ein Fremder von der anderen Seite des Ozeans, der mit mir sprechen wollte - um 5.00 Uhr morgens in seiner eigenen Zeitzone! Auch wenn ich nicht genau weiß, wer ihm meine Nummer gegeben hatte, war das doch wirklich eine gute Tat. Von diesem Tag an telefonierten wir oft, meistens um 5:00 morgens. Und an einem schönen Novembertag kam ich zum allerersten Mal auf die Insel. Seitdem ist eine Menge geschehen. Dieser ,Fremde‘ war Adriaan Schrier, oft nur kurz „Dutch“ (der Holländer) gerufen, und die Vision, die er mir vor vielen Jahren erklärte, ist inzwischen Wirklichkeit geworden ... ja, sogar noch viel mehr.

Das Unmögliche - Teil 2

Juni 7, 2019

Wer sich das Unmögliche zum Ziel setzt, bekommt nicht viel Konkurrenz...
– Von Kirsten Kuhnert (CDTC-Mitgründerin)

Genau diese Überzeugung hat Dutch, Rudy Pizziolo, Rudolf Jaeckle und mich selbst darin bestärkt, zu einem Abenteuer aufzubrechen. Daraus ist dann das Zentrum für Delphintherapie und -forschung in Curacao (CDTC) hervorgegangen.

Während Dutch für uns die Grundlagen aufbaute, damit wir so schnell wie möglich anfangen konnten, arbeitete Rudolf intensiv mit den Delphin-„Urvätern“ des CDTC (Nemo und Mateo), während ich selbst Besprechungen mit der ärztlichen Leitung der von Dolphin Aid über das Therapiekonzept führte.

Meine Aufgabe war es dabei, die Leute „verrückt“ zu machen, sie immer wieder an alles zu erinnern, woran wir denken mussten. Während dessen schrieb ich nachts die Stellenbeschreibungen für alle Leute, die wir brauchten. In Düsseldorf wurden Gespräche geführt, die die armen Anwärter wohl wirklich in Angst und Schrecken versetzten.

Wir wollten nämlich nur die bestausgebildeten, erfahrensten und motiviertesten Profis einstellen - und lustig sollten sie dann auch noch sein. Als wenn diese Mischung leicht zu finden wäre, mussten wir dann auch noch die Nadel im Heuhaufen finden, nämlich Personen, die mindestens fließend Niederländisch oder Deutsch und Englisch sprachen, die dazu bereit und in der Lage waren, auf einer Insel wie Curaçao zu leben -irgendwo in den warmen Gewässern der Karibik.

Während ich dies schreibe, kann ich mich noch ganz genau daran erinnern, wie spannend diese Pionierzeit war. Es fällt mir immer noch schwer, zu glauben, dass es die Leute, die wir gern haben wollten, nicht nur tatsächlich gab, sondern dass sie sogar dazu bereit waren, auf einer Insel zu leben, von der sie bis dahin vielleicht noch nie gehört hatten. Meine eigenen Kinder dienten ihnen dann als „Übungsmaterial“. Sie verliebten sich schnell in die Insel, die sie schon bald als ihr zweites Zuhause bezeichneten, und schlossen Freundschaften für das ganze Leben. Das Schiff, so nenne ich es nämlich immer noch, Sie kennen ja dieses eindrucksvolle Wahrzeichen auf dem Sea Aquarium-Park, wurde die meiste Zeit mein „Zuhause fern von Zuhause“, das ich mit allen Therapeuten in der Ausbildung, mit Praktikanten und einigen zukünftigen Trainern teilte.

Dutch hatte hinten im Schiff in Rekordzeit weitere Unterkünfte gebaut, für alle, die dort herumexperimentieren. Nun möchte ich Ihnen natürlich auch noch gern erzählen, wie es weiterging, als wir erkannten, dass es damals auf der Insel noch gar keine geeigneten Unterkünfte für unsere Patienten gab.

Unserem Weg - Teil 3

Juni 7, 2019

Aus den Steinen, die wir auf unserem Weg antreffen, kann man Brücken bauen...
– Von Kirsten Kuhnert (CDTC-Mitgründerin)

…nun ja, die Brücke gab es natürlich schon: die Brücke, die das Festland mit der Sea Aquariumsinsel verband, die Dutch sich ausgedacht hatte.

Außerdem gab es da auch noch eine Handvoll ganz besonderer Leute, die intensiv am Aufbau eines Therapiezentrums arbeiteten, wie die Welt es so noch nie gesehen hatte. Eigentlich dachten wir uns alles von Grund auf selbst aus. Die Aufgaben wurden verteilt, jeder von uns war mit seiner eigenen Aufgabe beschäftigt, und so kam immer mehr Ordnung in das Chaos. :-)

Schlaflose Nächte, endlose Telefongespräche, Besprechungen, Training, Organisation, Einkaufen, Umbau. Warum Umbau? Weil es die CDTC-Einrichtungen ja noch gar nicht gab. Darum beschlossen wir, den ehemaligen Foto-Shop des Sea Aquariums zu verlagern und den Platz für die ersten Therapieräume zu benutzen. Das heißt, wir beschlossen das, und „Dutch“ musste das dann bauen....

Wenn meine Erinnerung mich nicht trügt, war das erste wichtige Teil, das fertig war, dieser wunderschöne Delphintisch. Dieser wurde dann zum Mittelpunkt der weiteren Arbeit und steht auch heute noch in der Mitte der Therapieräume. An diesem Tisch sind wirklich unzählige wichtige Gespräche geführt worden!

Dann kam ein Punkt, im Januar 2004 glaube ich, an dem wir erkannten, dass wir für die Patienten, die zur Therapie anreisten, auch geeignete Unterkünfte finden mussten. In Düsseldorf gab es schon die ersten Familien, die ihre Therapie planten, darum wurde das nun wirklich dringend. Aber zum Glück gab es schon den Hotelkomplex Royal Sea Aquarium Resort, in dem wir nun die ersten Familien unterbringen konnten. Es war uns aber schon damals klar, dass das noch keine endgültige Lösung war. Natürlich waren Apartments und Standort wunderschön, aber für unsere Patienten mit großen Rollstühlen nicht wirklich barrierefrei und zugänglich. Darum zerbrachen wir uns den Kopf auf der Suche nach einer Lösung, oder zumindest einem guten Kompromiss - und das wie immer unter Zeitdruck. Zeit war wirklich ein Luxus, irgendwie hatten wir nie genug Zeit. Und auch diesmal war es Dutch, der einen praktischen Plan vorschlug. Aus 8 Zimmern im Lions Dive Hotel machte er in kürzester Zeit 4 Apartments. Er ließ Wände herausbrechen und Türen verbreitern, sorgte dafür, dass jedes Apartment ein behindertengerechtes Badezimmer erhielt, und verlegte das Esszimmer auf die Terrasse. Das war einfach genial ....und bestimmt nur auf Curaçao möglich.

Dadurch entstand auch eine Situation, in der die Familien in benachbarten Apartments wohnten und in engen Kontakt miteinander kamen. Wie man hörte, hat man dort viele gemütliche Abende in großer Runde genossen...Stück für Stück, aber auch ganz buchstäblich Stein für Stein, machten unsere Bemühungen, unseren Patienten eine unvergessliche, sorglose und erfolgreiche Zeit zu verschaffen, Fortschritte.

Vision zur Realität - Teil 4

Juni 7, 2019

Vision zur Realität
– Von Kirsten Kuhnert (CDTC-Mitgründerin)

In einem Büro in Düsseldorf führte ich dann gemeinsam mit Kay Evers Gespräche mit denjenigen Kandidaten, die den Mut hatten, sich auf diese unglaublich anspruchsvolle Stellenbeschreibung einzulassen. Und damals sagte ich ihnen allen: „Fest steht nur, dass Ihr Arbeitstag rechtzeitig beginnt. Das Ende ist offen.“ Genau so war es dann auch. Wir fingen meist gegen 7 Uhr an, und wegen der fehlenden Logistik und des Arbeitspensums waren wir 12 Stunden später oft noch nicht fertig. Alle packten wirklich überall mit an! Telefon und Telefax, Staubwischen, das Reinigen von Fischeimern oder Desinfizieren von Hilfsmitteln, die Trainer gaben Training und die Therapeuten Therapie, und Familiengespräche dauerten wirklich stundenlang. Einen Therapiebericht schreiben, kostete die erfahrensten Kollegen oft 4 bis 6 Wochen - anders ausgedrückt, in der Verwaltung waren wir praktisch genial. Und weil sich für uns das CDTC schon wie Zuhause anfühlte, kam es sehr häufig vor, dass wir uns etwas zu essen kommen ließen und am Ende eines Arbeitstags von 12 oder 14 Stunden immer noch vor dem Büro saßen und den Tag bei einem guten Gespräch ausklingen ließen. Wir waren einfach nur eine Gruppe von Menschen, die motiviert und fest entschlossen waren, die Rehabilitationsgeschichte unserer Patienten ganz neu zu schreiben - auch wenn das lange Arbeitstage mit sich brachte.

Als dann die ersten Familien kamen, erhielten wir das dringend benötigte Feedback nach wochenlangem Training. Weil sie schon sehr erfahren in der delfingestützten Therapie waren, simulierten wir zwei Perioden einer regulären Therapie. Am zweiten Tag meinte dann einer der Väter: „Das ist jetzt wirklich das beste Angebot, das ich bisher erlebt habe.“ Ein hochgradig emotionaler Moment - alle, die dabei waren, erinnern sich immer noch daran, und wir arbeiten hart daran, es auch so zu halten.

Dolphin Trainer (fulltime)

May 4, 2022

Dolphin Trainer (fulltime)

CDTC offers since 2004 dolphin assisted therapy to children and adults with special needs. The personalized therapy program is conducting in several languages (mainly Dutch and German). The care for the family is an important part of our therapy concept.

The position:

The dolphin trainer, together with a therapist, strives to make the therapy as special as possible for the patient. The program is conducted in a pleasant and safe working environment where both humans and animals are of equal importance. As a dolphin trainer you are responsible for the daily care of the dolphins. Preparing fish, cleaning – and maintenance duties are also part of your daily job.

We ask:

minimum of 1 to 4 years of experience in training and working with dolphins (or other (sea)mammals

Experience with operant conditioning

Good command of the English language. German and Dutch are recommended

Good swimming skills and is in good physical shape

Do not mind working on weekends or public holidays

Has affinity with special needs people is recommended

The right candidate lives or wants to live on Curaçao, is enthusiastic, creative and a team player with a hands-on mentality. Our new colleague does not mind working in the sun and is highly motivated for the job.

We offer:

An internal training program

A challenging job with a lot of responsibility

Working in a natural setting within an international and young team

Salary and working conditions that are in accordance with the island

Are you interested in becoming part of our dolphin trainer team? 

Please send a motivation letter – in English – together with your resume and photo 

via email to Jeannette Pot: jeannette@cdtc.info
For more information visit our website www.cdtc.info

Physio- or Occupational therapist (full time)

May 4, 2022

Physio- or occupational therapist (full time)

The CDTC offers since 2004 dolphin assisted therapy to children and adults with special needs. The personalized therapy program is conducting in several languages (mainly Dutch and German). The care for the family is an important part of our therapy concept.

The right candidate has:

  • A completed study in Physiotherapy or Occupational therapy;
  • Minimum of 3 years experience in one or more of the following areas:

Therapy with children and adolescents with developmental/neurologic disorders/multiple disabilities plus conducting parent meetings;

  • A good command of the English language and the Dutch or the German language; plus willing to learn then the other language (Dutch or German) in a short time
  • Great communication skills;
  • Is very sportive and a good swimmer;
  • Love for the underwater world and its inhabitants.

Next to that, you live or want to live on the island of Curaçao (for a minimum of three years), you love the sun, are flexible, creative and a team player.

We offer:

  • an intensive internal training program for dolphin assisted therapy;
  • an independent job with a lot of responsibility within an international and young team;
  • an interdisciplinary and holistic approach;
  • good local working conditions.

Administrative tasks, such as preparing files and maintaining the patient database etc., form part of the responsibilities.

Are you interested in this job? Please send a detailed cover letter – in English – with curriculum vitae through email to: jeannette@cdtc.info. For more information, please call our office via +5999 461 9886.

How it All Began – Part 1

June 7, 2019

Recalling the Memories of How it All Began
– By Kirsten Kuhnert (Co-Founder of CDTC)

Everyone knows the term "time flies", but never before have I realized the truth that lies in it, than now in the light of the 15th anniversary of CDTC. And as I wandered... from the Dolphin Suites Hotel to the therapy center, I started traveling though time. I remember clearly the day when my phone rang at 10.00am o’clock and the display showing a totally unknown country code. The gentlemen on the other end was a stranger, from the other side of the ocean, at 5.00am in the morning, his time. Whoever the person was that gave him the number, did something very good. From that day on, we spoke often, mostly at 5.00am in the morning. And on a nice November day, I made my first step onto the island. Since that day, a lot has happened. “The stranger was Adriaan Schrier, popularly known as “Dutch”, and the vision that he explained to me so many years ago, has become a reality… and much more.”

The Impossible – Part 2

June 7, 2019

Who strives for the impossible has little competition…
– By Kirsten Kuhnert (Co-Founder of CDTC)

It must have been this belief uniting Dutch, Rudy Pizziolo, Rudolf Jaeckle and myself, to join in this adventure that was destined to be called Curaçao Dolphin Therapy and Research Center.

While Dutch was building the basics for us to start as soon as possible, Rudolf was busy with the founding dolphin fathers of CDTC, Nemo and Mateo, and I sat with the medical board of dolphin aid over the therapy concept.

While I took the role of driving the guys crazy, constantly reminding them about all we had to think of, the job descriptions for everyone we would need were created at night. In Düsseldorf the interviews were conducted to scare the living hell out of the candidates.

We only wanted the best-educated, most experienced, motivated professionals with the funniest personalities. As if this mix was easy to find, it was also necessary to find the needle in the haystack, with someone speaking at least fluent Dutch or German and English, who was willing and able to live on an island called Curaçao, somewhere in the warm waters of the Caribbean Sea.

While writing this, I can feel the excitement of the pioneering times again, and I am still in disbelief that the people we wanted, not only existed in real life but were also willing to live on an island they probably didn't have planned to earlier. My children became the guinea pigs for those practicing, they fell in love with the island that they called a second home and made friends for life. The boat as I still call it, you know this impressive landmark on the Sea Aquarium Park property became my home away from home for the longest time, shared with all therapists in training, the interns, and some future trainers.

Dutch had built the additional accommodations in the back of the ship in record time, for all those puzzling around, and I will tell you what happened when we figured that there was no suitable accommodation for our patients on the island back then.

Your Path – Part 3

June 7, 2019

From stones that lay in your path you can build bridges....
– By Kirsten Kuhnert (Co-Founder of CDTC)

…well, the bridge naturally existed already, the one which connected the mainland with "Dutch´s" creation, the Sea Aquarium Island.

A specific handful of people, who were wildly engaged in the creation of a therapy center that the world had never seen before, also existed. In fact, we thought of everything. The tasks were divided, each and every one of us was busy working on theirs, and so the chaos took its course. 🙂

Sleepless nights, endless phone calls, meetings, training, organization, shopping, remodeling. Why remodeling? Because the facilities for CDTC had not been created yet and we opted to relocate the former photo shop of the Sea Aquarium and use its site for the first therapy rooms. So, we opted, and "Dutch" built....

The first important piece that was completed, as I remember, was this beautiful dolphin table, which became the center of the action. It still stands today in the heart of the therapist offices and has witnessed important conversations.

At some point, it must have been January 2004, we realized that we needed to find proper accommodation for those coming for therapy. In Düsseldorf, the first families were in the process of scheduling their therapies, so ironing out this necessity became essential. Luckily, the Royal Sea Aquarium Resort already existed, and we chose it as housing for the first families. That, however, would not be able to serve as a permanent solution. The apartments where beautiful and the location outstanding, but they were not truly barrier free and accessible for our patients with big wheelchairs. We racked our brains to come up with a solution, at least to find a good compromise - under time pressure as always. Time was a luxury, and we never seemed to have enough. And once again it was Dutch who came up with a practical plan. Out of 8 rooms at the Lions Dive Hotel, he made 4 apartments in basically no time. He broke down walls and broadened doors, created a handicapped accessible bathroom in each unit, and relocated the dining room to the terrace. Simply a genius....and certainly only possible in Curaçao.

So, it came to pass that the families lived next to each other and therefore came in close contact with one another. It is said that many cozy evenings were enjoyed in a big group....Piece by piece and literally stone for stone, our attempts to create a special, worry-free, and successful time for our patients progressed.

Vision to Reality – Part 4

June 7, 2019

From a vision to reality….first families were welcomed
– By Kirsten Kuhnert  (Co-Founder of CDTC)

In an office in Düsseldorf, I sat together with Kay Evers to interview those candidates, brave enough to reply to the very demanding job description. And I told all of them, “You will only start working on time. The closing time is in the unknown.” And this is how it was. We started around 7am and due to non-existing logistics and the work load, we were never done 12 hours later. Everyone did everything! Phone, fax, dusting, cleaning fish buckets, disinfected supplies, the trainers trained, and the therapists gave therapy, family talks lasted for hours. The creation of a therapy report could take the most advanced colleagues 4 to 6 weeks, in other words we were practically administrative geniuses. And since somehow, we didn't feel like having any other home but CDTC, it frequently happened that we ordered something to eat and still sat in front of the office after 12 to 14 hours of work to reflect the day. We were just a group of people dedicated and wildly determined to rewrite the rehabilitative story of our patients, despite of a long work day.

The first families who came, gave us the much-needed feedback after weeks of training, were very experienced in Dolphin Assisted Therapy, and so we simulated two periods of regular therapy. One of the fathers said to us on the second day, “This is the best, I have ever seen.” It was a very emotional moment, clearly remembered by those present, and we still work hard to keep it that way.